Hook removal

I once embedded a steelhead fly in my hand, and it took me an hour to dissect it out with the aid of another hook and a half bottle of Maker’s Mark.

I guess you could call this a public service announcement, courtesy of Gink and Gasoline. I had read about this technique and even told my buddies who watched me carve the fly out that day it could be done. We didn’t try it because no one wanted to be responsible if we failed, including me.

The victim in this video is nuts, especially how he sanitized the fly with Pabst Blue Ribbon.  I think I did the same with my Maker’s Mark.

Warning. This video will make you cringe.

<iframe width=”560″ height=”315″ src=”//www.youtube.com/embed/KNvWououyp4″ frameborder=”0″ allowfullscreen>

Leave a Reply

